Our Stories

Christel House Academy principal awarded 'Principal of the Year' award for second time

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Christel House Academy’s Principal, Carey Dahncke, was recognized by the Indiana Association of Principals (IASP) for the second time as District 7 Elementary Principal of the Year. Dahncke was first awarded this distinction in 2006 as principal at Indianapolis Public School #82.

District 7 includes all schools located in Marion County.

District Elementary Principals of the Year are elected by their peers. One principal is honored from each of the 12 districts. From these 12 District Elementary Principal winners, one is chosen as the 2012 State Elementary Principal of the Year. The state winner will be announced at the award celebration.

“Carey’s leadership has resulted in moving Christel House Academy (CHA) from strength to strength,” said Christel House International Founder, Christel DeHaan. “With him at the helm, CHA has received an ‘A’ grade from the Indiana Department of Education for three years in a row, as well as the highest rating of ‘Exemplary’ for six straight years. He and his staff recognize that excellence in teaching will give our students an immeasurable gift – a good education and the values which will help them become good citizens.”

Dahncke was recognized on Sunday, November 18 at the 2012 Principals of the Year Recognition Celebration. The celebration is a part of IASP’s annual Fall Professional Conference, held this year at the Indianapolis Marriott Hotel. IASP State President, Tom Mellish, presented the award along with IASP Executive Director, Todd Bess, and Blue Ribbon Committee Chairperson, Cynthia Morton.


Learn More
About Our Difference
Learn More
About Our Programs
Learn More
About Our Schools